donut tour of austin! pt. 1

Hello there friends!

I hope you had a great weekend and your week is starting out on a good note! My week is going to be a little stressful.. I’m packing up my duplex and moving for the last time in College Station this weekend… Yikes. I’m not a fan of moving, or packing really. It takes way too long and it’s such a hassle, but it needs to be done soon as I start my new job next week!!! I’m really excited to start this new chapter of life and see where it takes me.

The start of my weekend was awesome. I came home and went around the greater Austin area to find some of the best and least expensive donuts money and a hungry tummy can buy! Hence the title, I will be taking you on a little tour of the area and giving some great recommendations in case you ever find yourself in Austin needing a donut!

So keep in mind, this is not a complete list of places in Austin, there are so many!!! I went to three places and couldn’t fit anymore in my stomach, so over time I will be making it to other great places.

Hope you’re hungry!

  • Round Rock Donuts

WOW. I have been a fan of RR Donuts for many years, and for good reason! They have one of the best original donut in the area. It’s not a normal classic glazed donut; theirs is more of a yellow color, and a different type of taste to them. I want to say they use a different dough/method than traditional donuts that gives them their flavor and color. Either way, RR Donuts is so worth it, and one donut is less than a dollar!

This was the first stop on the tour and I was incredibly excited to start this! Not to mention very hungry; I had an empty stomach to start out with so I had enough room for the rest of the day!

  • Krispy Kreme

In keeping with the original taste, Krispy Kreme is high up on the list. This is a place I grew up going to as well! Many of the stores offer a first-hand look into the donut making process, with a free, fresh, hot donut waiting for you at the end. Now I didn’t know this, but they only offer that in the morning and at night, so I didn’t get my free original. That’s okay though, I highly recommend them for an original. However, they have some amazing cake donuts!! I got a chocolate cake donut and some blueberry cake donut holes, and goodness I wish I had a whole dozen of them!! The chocolate donut and donut holes were less than $5. Definitely a great morning/afternoon/evening treat!

  • Voodoo Doughnut

So I didn’t even know this place existed until a few months ago, and I seriously wish I knew about it sooner!!! It’s a 24-7 gourmet Doughnut place on 6th street, which is a great use of space there in Austin. Many of their donuts feature unique twists on old favorites. This place is definitely in a unique category. I had a really hard time trying to figure out what I wanted.. Everything looked so good!! I asked my cashier and he suggested the No Name, which is an original chocolate glazed donut with Rice Krispies and peanut butter on top.. I have to say, I’m still thinking about it!! I also ordered a maple bacon bar (with such a unique place, why order just one??) and I have no regrets with that either. The maple glaze was a little too sweet for me, but the bacon was very thick and balanced it out incredibly well. For two gourmet donuts and a carton of milk that brought me back to elementary school, it was only $6. Definitely worth it!


Just from these three places, I’m convinced Austin has some of the best donuts around. There will be more, this is only part one. If you love donuts as much as I do, I hope that this helps a little with your next trip to a donut shop!

Until next time friends!

Ps, if there is a type of food that you would like a tour of, let me know! I love food and am willing to try new things and places!

Leave a Reply

