shrimp enchilada stuffed shells

Howdy friends!

I hope your week is starting off well! I know that this is a little later than I would have liked to post, but I promise I didn’t forget! Last week I was in the process of moving out and back to the Austin area. I am not really a fan of moving, but this time was a little harder because I was leaving behind a lot of people and memories that I had there for 4 years. Now I’m back home though and I just started my first big girl job yesterday! It’s a little scary and overwhelming at times, but I am so excited for what will come!

In honor of everything that was going on, I had to of course make some comfort food this week. I basically took every type of food I love and smooshed it all together in one SUPER delicious recipe!!

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 1 lb shrimp (I buy the bagged frozen kind.. It tends to be a lot easier to cook for this type of recipe)
  • Small package of frozen corn
  • Box of pasta shells
  • Can of salsa verde (I bought the hatch salsa verde from HEB and MAN it was good, but really any salsa verde will be really good with this!)
  • 4 0z of cream cheese (buy a regular pack and just save the rest for something else!)
  • Pepper jack and Monterrey Jack cheese
  • Fajita seasoning

What you’ll do:

  • First, bring a pot of water on to boil. This is for the pasta shells; there should be directions on the box so follow those pretty closely. It took me a little longer to make than what the directions said so it would be good to go ahead and get this out of the way.
  • Next, add some oil to a pan and put on medium high heat.
  • When that gets hot, add the already thawed shrimp to the pan and season with fajita seasoning. I like a lot of flavor so I added a generous amount to each shrimp!
  • While the shrimp and shells are cooking, get a small bowl and add about 2 cups of corn (make sure to microwave it before adding it), cream cheese, and about a cup and a half of the pepper jack cheese.
  • Mix this really well; if it is still chunky, put it in the microwave for about 15 seconds or until it is soft and creamy. Set this aside.
  • The shrimp shouldn’t take more than a few minutes to cook, so when they are a white-ish pink color, turn off the heat and let cool before you add it to the mixture.
    • I also want to specify that the kind of shrimp I used for this recipe was already cooked, so all I really needed to do was warm it up. If you are using raw shrimp through, make sure you know when it is completely done!
  • At this time the pasta should be close to being done, so preheat your oven to 350 degrees.
  • Get a baking pan and spread a little of the salsa verde on the bottom of it to kind of “grease” the pan.
  • When the pasta is done, drain it and let it cool for a few minutes (I burned myself a little, I couldn’t wait… Bad idea) and then arrange the shells in the pan.
  • After the shells are in the pan, get a spoonful of mixture and place it in each shell. It’s totally okay if the shells overlap!
  • When that is done, add the rest of the salsa verde on top and spread as much Monterrey jack cheese on top!
  • Place it in the oven for about 20-25 minutes until it is all heated through and the cheese is melted. Enjoy!

FullSizeRender (8)

This recipe was SO tasty oh my goodness. It did take some time to get everything done but it’s so worth it. I added some fresh avocado and pico de gallo on top and man that just added even more to it! This recipe cost me about $20, maybe a little less. It’s definitely a great meal to share with friends and family, or if you want it to yourself it’s great for meal prep too! I’m definitely going to be making this again, I was very pleased with how it turned out!

I hope that if you make it you enjoy it as much as my family and I did!

Until next time friends!

Leave a Reply

